LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - LeafFilter lied and took advantage

Hello- There are many different factors that go into the price of LeafFilter such as inside and outside corners on your gutters, number of stories on your home, whether a gutter replacement is necessary, and if a rake metal is needed for our product to perform at its optimal level. If you have further questions about why a rake metal was used or are experiencing any issues with the gutter guard system, please contact us at 800-749-4566.
ID
#405869 Review #405869 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2912

I’m writing to express my regret at ever having LeafFilter work on my home. I will take a few minutes and detail my experience.

After attending the Everett Home and Garden Show, I contacted LeafFilter for an estimate. The sales rep came out and gave his sales pitch. He measured and came back in with an estimate. I couldn’t afford to have my whole house done. I chose to have the front gutter (my biggest problem area) and two short gutters in the back that weren’t installed correctly fixed and fitted with LeafFilter.

The sales rep informed us that our house didn’t have rake metal installed and without it our roof/eave area would become compromised over time. We would end up with lots of damage that would need repair. He said that LeafFilter can remedy that by installing the rake metal for an additional $600 when they send out their team to install the LeafFilter system. Our total bill was $2516.11. The approximate start and completion date was March 20,2013 between 12 and 2 pm.

On March 20 after noon, a man (not a team) shows up from LeafFilter and starts work on the house. He doesn’t leave until after 6pm. He had completed the front gutters, started on the two short gutters, and started on the rack metal. The weather was horrible and he was fighting it every step of the way. He was also fighting with the rake metal that he was given to install. To install the rake metal the installer was taking out at least the last nail on every shingle to slip the rake metal in all around the house. To my untrained eye the rake metal didn’t look correct and I wasn’t thrilled to see all the roofing nails coming out. It appeared to be too wide. He said it was and he had to cut about 3 inches off all the rake metal to fit it properly. He called the installation supervisor. He was on speakerphone so he could keep working. The person he was speaking to said to cut it down and make it work. He came back the next day and worked under similar conditions. He ran out of rake metal. He called and again told the installation supervisor that the product he was installing wasn’t correct. It must have finally got through to the supervisor because he told the installer to take every piece of rake metal out that he had installed and he would have to come back with the proper rake metal another day. We stopped him when we found that he was pulling it out. Part of the job was that he installs the rake metal and use a 50 year silicone to seal it. The installer had yet to silicone anything and he was pulling out what he had installed. We didn’t know when he would return and all of the shingles where he had slipped the rake metal in were not secure.

I called the sales rep and asked for help in getting this resolved. The sales rep told me that he had been informed that the sub-contractor they hired to do the job wasn’t doing what he was supposed to. I let the sales rep know that what he was saying was incorrect. I have nothing but admiration for the installer. He was working alone, in horrible weather, attempting to install something that was incorrect.

I let the sales rep know that I wasn’t “happy” at the thought of every shingle on my home exposed. The sales rep assured me that everything would be fine. It would be completed the next day. The next day was Friday, March 22. It snowed. I didn’t expect anyone to show up and no one did. I called the sales rep to ask when someone could be scheduled to come out. He said that Saturday, March 23 was going to be clear and someone would be out. We stayed home because we needed to be here. No one showed up. I called the sales rep on Monday, March 25th. He wanted to schedule someone to come out that week. I let him know that wouldn’t be possible because our schedule was full. (We shifted everything we had planned for the 21st, 22nd, and 23rd to the week of the 25th.) I let the sales rep and the supervisor know that the only day we had open in the near future was Monday, April 1st. They agreed to that day. On the 1st, a man shows up, a different installer. I introduced myself and filled him in on what had been done to that point. He told me that he was told that to finish this job it was going to take an hour and a half. I apologized to him and laughed because I knew that it was going to take longer than that. Four hours later, he comes to me and says that he has another job he has to go to and that he would be back to finish up. He didn’t return on that day. The installation supervisor called me asking to set up another day when they could come out. I was taking the week off for vacation to do personal business and maybe get away for a couple of days with the family, but because this had been dragging on for so long I just wanted it done. I apologized to the family and let the supervisor know that they could come on Thursday, April 4th. He assured me that the work would be completed. He said that he would be out and work on the job personally. He said that he would be here at 9am.

On the 4th at approximately 9:40 am he appears. He introduces himself and gets to work. A little after noon the installer who had been here on the first arrives to help the supervisor. They took all the rack metal that was wrong and removed it. They put in the new rake metal. They pulled out more nails. When I asked if they were going to replace them, the supervisor told me that the whole roof was installed improperly. He said that we needed to get a roofer out and look into replacing the roof. They finished the job at approximately 6pm. I saw them put silicone on but I couldn’t see where it did any good.

I contacted two roofing companies. I was told, by professional roofers, that the only thing wrong with my roof was the fact that LeafFilter took out nails that didn’t need to be removed. I was also told that the way my roof was done the rake metal was not needed. I let them know how much I paid for it was told that IF I felt the need for rake metal they would have installed it properly for half the price. They would have also referred me to a reputable gutter cleaner that would have come out and cleaned all of the gutters (which LeafFilter said they would do and didn’t) for probably more than 10 years at the price I paid for the LeafFilter system that I had installed. We needed to get the roof fixed. The roofers told me that all the shingles LeafFilter worked on needed to be re-nailed. They also let me know that some of the shingles LeafFilter messed with were curling and needed to be secured with Henrys’. I paid the roofers to re-nail. I will have to get on the roof myself to secure the curling shingles when the weather gets warm enough to seal them.

I contacted a home inspector and had him come out to look at something in my attic. In his inspection he asked why we had rake metal. I let him know the story and he also confirmed that it was a waste of money.

I am a woman in her fifties raising two children with the help of her elderly mother. One of the children and my mother has health issues. I work full time and with everything I have to do I look for anything that will help out and ease the burden. I feel that I was taken advantage of by LeafFilter. I do like the gutter system but I don’t like the fact that I got sold on something I didn’t need (the rake metal). I question the knowledge of Mr. Plante and the installation supervisor. I’m just glad that I wised up and hopefully will take a step back and look for other options before I spend the money in the future.

Would I recommend LeafFilter? No. Have I told people about my experience? Yes.

2 comments
Anonymous
#717708

I hit the BS button by mistake ...sorry!

Kelly
#660773

As an update to my original post. No one from Leaf Filter has bothered to respond to any of the comments I've made here or elsewhere.

I have roof shingles that are curling because Leaf Filter didn't do a thorough job on their installation (not a surprise).

I will have to climb up on the roof and fix it since I can't afford to have someone come out and do it for me. I'm not looking forward to doing that.

View more comments (1)
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Bums rush-questionable marketing practices

Hello, LeafFilter encourages homeowners to make an informed purchase decision. Therefore, if possible, appointments are scheduled at a time when both homeowners are home. We'd like you and your husband to thoroughly understand the benefits of our product so that you can both determine whether LeafFilter is right for you.
ID
#401619 Review #401619 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I contacted Leaf Filter to schedule an appointment for a quote. I was immediately asked if my husband would be home before the appointment was made. (discrimination regarding sex and marital status) I made the appointment for yesterday at 7pm. When I called due to a no show, the company had no record of my appointment time. It was rescheduled for today.

Area Manager made several price quotes, especially if I signed immediately. Quote would not be emailed, only hand-written.

Price was 49% higher than neighbor's, which was done 18 months ago.

Area Manager kept complaining that he deserved to make his commission, too. And when I asked about the automatic $200 administrative fee---he finally explained that that covered advertising, home shows, etc. I thought those costs were built into any base product pricing.

When I declined his offer, he left in a huff and used angry language. He warned me that I would be sorry and would be calling him back anyway.

Note: I made complaints regarding their discriminatory practices to 2 employees. They assured me that this was company policy.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Don't let them in your home!

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. In order to ensure that every homeowner makes an informed purchase decision, we like to explain our product as thoroughly as possible through a complete in-home demo. This also gives us time to answer any questions or concerns you may have regarding our product.
ID
#400678 Review #400678 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I could not get the sales person to understand that I was not interested in their product. He was rude and pushy and would not leave my home.

If a homeowner asks for the "condensed version" of their sell, that is what they should get. I will tell everyone I know not to sign up for any in-home estimates from these "used car salesmen". I would not trust them any further than I could see them.

They have a spill about how they will come down on a ridiculous price if the homeowner will put a sign in the yard. Then they give you another ridiculous prices.

3 comments
Anonymous
#972348

Or perhaps educated consumers get estimates from three sources, the same as YOU would do if you were getting major car repairs or any large business purchase. Hard to fee sorry for the "salesman" actually doing his job. Go work at WalMart if you can't handle the job in a professional manner.

Anonymous
#849548

why have someone come out if you werent interested? You like wasting people's time and gas!

Anonymous
#819718

If you weren't interested than why did you set an appointment for the salesman to come out? Why do you people get angry when a SALESMAN tries to make a SALE!!!!???

Oh I know. You expected something for cheap and you knew that you couldn't afford it so you blame it on the company

View more comments (2)
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - After 4-5 years its like having no gutters at all

Hello- Please contact our dedicated service and support team at 800-749-4566. We would be more than happy to come out to your home and figure out what the issue is so that your LeafFilter performs at its optimal level.
ID
#398030 Review #398030 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1728

after a number of years 4-5 its like having no gutters at all. when it rains the water just runs off gutter .

it just flows off the filer, no going into the gutter at all. they depict that when the wind blows it will blow off any thing that laying on the filer. false! its like having no gutters at all!

I've tried calling leaffiler nw 3 times they don't return calls at all. There customer service sucks a big oneiam about ready tocall the better business b. or atty.

gen.there should be a class act. suit against these people.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Leaffilter rocks

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you are a strong supporter of our product and company.
ID
#397365 Review #397365 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Consumer reports did a 16 month study on Pro installed gutter protection, in the end Leaffilter killed everybody period. Google it Sept 2010 is the issue.

Some but not all of the people that post on here work for one of the dozens of other companies that Leaffilter is killing in the market place. Readers be careful. Leaffilter is a great company with a great product at a competitive price and that's easily verifiable. When we have a valid complaint, its been my experience, we deal with it quickly and efficiently.

We value out reputation too much not to. When you fight your way to #1 in an industry you get haters.

Chris C

Charlotte

7 comments
Anonymous
#972353

If you were as wonderful as you do say so yourself, in ten years you would be a well known household name instead of relying on one outdated article. If your product was he benchmark you wouldn't have new and improved versions and to *** with the paying customers with the failed beta versions.

Anonymous
#840274

notice how "Chris C" identifies himself as "anonymous" in the opening of his comments, but ends up showing his hand as an employee of the company.....just reread the last couple of sentences and you will see what I mean.........just more LIES from a company that truly has NO SCRUPLES, and teaches their employees to forget anything that show any integrity or honesty...."LIE FOR THE BUCKS" would be a much better name for the entire company and their training programs..

Anonymous
#834204

If you take the time to read the while article you will find that Gutterglove was the highest rated product and cost $10 a foot less.

Anonymous
#804655

I'd love to see this idiots gutters his gutters probably look like tiger stripes

Leaf filter truth you tube

Anonymous
#634946

I got the low-down from one of your reps at a show. He said I should see the "#1 Consumer Reports gutter guard".

He told me they tested hundreds, but later I found out they actually only tested about 16. Also, your guy pushed really hard saying you couldn't go under the shingles with a gutter guard or I'd void my roof warranty. He made it out to be very frightening if you touched a roof. I signed up for an estimate based on this.

Then I found my way through the show to the MasterShield booth. They said they were from the same inventor, a newer version of the technology. They also had letters from GAF and Owens Corning for me to look at that they could go under the shingles and wouldn't void the shingle warranty as you claimed. Are you "killing the competition" with misleading information just to scare people into choosing your product?

I went back and cancelled my estimate. Since I have a choice, I chose the new version rather than the old one.

Shame on you for your tactics, especially with someone on a fixed income.

Anonymous
#819723
@PissedConsumer634946

They only tested 16?!?! Wow.

That's sarcasm by the way. Master Shield isn't the same. It has an aluminum base and a steel mesh.

Hey Einstein Google what happens when you have 2 different metals working together. Master Shield is garbage.

Anonymous
#634427

You are misleading people if you read the full report from Consumer Reports it says and i quote! Though all were impressive at shedding debris, even the top-scoring Leaf Filter screen was only middling at containing a severe downpour.

View more comments (6)
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Online reviews are ***- try word of mouth review instead

Hello, We appreciate your feedback. We're so glad you are pleased with our product and service. Thank you for being a valued LeafFilter customer.
ID
#392211 Review #392211 is a subjective opinion of poster.

If you know anything about advertising and sales, other competition go on to these sites and talk down their competitors that are succeeding because they are failing. Ask people you know who have the product and make a decision for yourself.

I've had leaffilter since the company opened and I love the product. Sales in sales. Every sales agent is pushy. Its their job to make commission.

From experience the over all product is amazing and if I do ever find myself not happy, I have a lifetime money back guaruntee so if that time ever comes then I will deal with it then. Do you real research and dont believe everything you hear online.

3 comments
Anonymous
#1052664

Funny but you yourself have left your comment anonymously! I can tell you from experience that most of the negative comments on this site about leaffilter are probably accurate.

To be fair, leaffilter does do thousands of installations without complaints, but their product certainly does clog with algae on some homes and you are, in reality, subject to the possible lack of expertise of subcontractor installers.

Those are just facts. The markup on the product is also extreme as the remarks from past salesman attest.

Anonymous
#972357

Yes, it's a well known fact, happy customers go looking for a place that disputes the experience they paid dearly for a product that just does what it says. For a company to spend this much time online looking to write fake testimonials on a site that was created because you haven't fulfilled your promises speaks volumes.

Anonymous
#823982

leaf filter truth you tube

View more comments (2)
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - ESTIMATES REPRESENTIVE CAME TO MY HOUSE

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry for the pressure you may have experienced. Your input has been forwarded to our management team and will be taken into consideration.
ID
#390672 Review #390672 is a subjective opinion of poster.

COMMERICAL ACCOUNT MANAGER CAME TO MY HOUSE TO GIVE MY WIFE AND I ESTIMATES ON LEAF FILTER GUTTERS. WE SAID WE WANTED TO GET OTHER ESTIMATES BEFORE I MADE UP MY MINE.

AT THE END OF THE TWO HOUR PRESENTATION HE STARTED PUTTING MORE AND MORE PRESSURE ON US. HE BECAME RUDE AND ANGRIER SAYING WE LIED TO HIM ABOUT WANTING THE GUTTERS THEN STARTED INTIMIDATING US TELLING US WE COULD NOT HAVE ANYONE ELSE TO COME OUT. ALSO SAID I WAS USED AND HAD WASTED HIS TIME BY NOT TAKING HIS WORD HIS GUTTER GUARD WAS THE BEST.MY WIFE TOLD HIM WE WE WERE SORRY HE FELT THAT WAY BUT WE ALWAYS GET MORE ESTIMATES.

SEVERAL TIMES WE REPEATED TO HIM, BUT HE WALK OUT.Never felt so frighten by representative of acompany. hope no as to go through this.

1 comment
Anonymous
#972358

Thank you for taking your time to save us from the same experience. I will go with someone local.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Waste of Money, Damage to your spouting

Hello- LeafFilter is backed by an industry-leading lifetime, transferrable warranty. We offer a 100% money back no-clog guarantee. Please contact our dedicated service and support team at 800-749-4566 if you are still experiencing issues with our gutter guard product.
ID
#386287 Review #386287 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1000

I paid well over $1000 for "LeafFilter" on my spoutings. The first install took all day and I had to help clean up.

The install was very, very poorly done and my spoutings were damaged in the install.. The workmanship was poor, the screening is "wavy" and not fastened in the back. There are gaps, and I recently paid a roofing company $225 to clean my clogged gutters that are allegedly protected by this junk. Second install by a person, who came in a mini van and a ladder, I was not home when he started and by the time I did arrive he was packing up and claimed he re-installed the shiels properly.

He lied he only did one half the job and it was terrible. MORE HOLES IN MY NEW SPOUTING. Do not patronize this company, run away from this rip off operation.

TERRIBLE. Now I have clogged spoutings and less money.

2 comments
Anonymous
#964561

This was obviously not leave filter they are much more expensive I spent almost $5000 I am very pleased with the product I've had it now for three years

Anonymous
#964638
@PissedConsumer964561

It was Leaf Filter, and they initially tried to charge me much more than what I paid. Almost 3X as much.

Plus I had a small Cape Cod style home and perhaps your home was larger.

Since I wrote the check , I know whom I hired and who I paid.

View more comments (1)
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Leaf Filter Gutter Protection Review

Hello- Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so pleased that you are satisfied with our gutter guards. LeafFilter truly is the #1 gutter guard system in America.
ID
#382315 Review #382315 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I Have a heavily wooded home. My gutters always get Clogged. I spent about $6000 on gutter protection that worked off a reverse curve. My gutters still clogged.

I read the reviews about Leaffilter and I must say I was skeptical. But the truth is it really works. My installers here locally in Charlotte were awesome. The salesman was great very low-pressure, I like to buy I don't want to be sold.

My complaint is, where was leaf filter 15 years ago when I spent $6000 on something that didn't work. Leaf filter offers the best value for your dollar.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!!

Hello, We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. Please contact our service support team at 800-749-4566 and we will be happy to assess your situation once again.
ID
#376127 Review #376127 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1000
LeafFilter North - AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!!

I installed this product last summer to solve the problem of leaves in my gutter. This issue caused some icing last winter and I specifically wanted to solve this issue. The salesperson told me it would. Please see the attached pictures to see how the solution worked. Obviously, it created it's own problem. In the fall I had runoff during thunderstorms--the winter it has truly created a serious icing issue!!!

When I called--the service department kept referring me to mother nature. What? I lived in my home for 15 years--the first ever problem was last winter--the cause: leaves. This winter, the leaves are gone, but the problem is even worse. Nothing to do with mother nature. If this product is installed on the north side of the house, the screen freezes over and does not melt and the ice continues to built, and build, and build.

After VERY frustrating conversations with their service department--I said I wanted the filters unistalled--their answer? Sign a waver and we will. I will not sign anything until I see what damage theire product caused to my roof. Need proof? Look below--every inch of the filter is frozen!!

The product is awful and the service department condescending. AVOID

3 comments
Anonymous
#1020056

Are people seriously this ***? Leaf Filter does not have control over freezing temps.

They can help protect your gutters but nothing is fool proof. If you don't like frozen water move to a warmer climate.

Anonymous
#772933

this is exactly correct. Snow packs the screens making the gutters pointless.

Anonymous
#612433

I had a reverse curve system that was a disaster to say the least. I had Leaf Filter installed and could not be happier.

It performs as promised and no longer do I have the icicles in the winter. happy to never have to deal with gutter issues ever again.

View more comments (2)
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Leaf filter system-a joke and way too expensive

Hello, LeafFilter does not cause or prevent icicles. Please contact our service support team at 800-749-4566 so that we can further evaluate your situation and design a solution that will work for your unique situation.
ID
#375575 Review #375575 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$6500

Two weeks ago Leaf Filter was installed on all gutters on my house. Little bit of moisture, 20 degree weather, icicles all over the place; leaking gutters; ice on pavement.

In this house for 20 years and NEVER HAVE THERE BEEN ICICLES OFF THE GUTTERS. This is a rip off and i want the Leaf Filter system removed and my $6,500 returned in full. The sign on the lawn needs to come down as i do not want to advertise how *** i was for buying this system.

Do not believe the gutters were cleaned as i was sold and there were to be no leaks. I am really really disgusted

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Don't waste your money on LeafFilter!!!

Hello- Hi there - We understand your concerns, however, LeafFilter North and LeafFilter NW are separate business entities. I can assure you that LeafFilter North honors our own warranty and guarantee.
ID
#358843 Review #358843 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$10000

Your gutters don't get clogged (which is the guarantee) but the filter product gets clogged with pollen almost immediately so the water runs over the gutter. Might as well not have gutters at all.

The splashing has caused extensive damage to our siding and doors. Trust me this product is worthless. At first the dealer was diligent about coming out 4 times a year to spray the product off. Now that dealer has gone out of business so we are out of luck.

A new dealer has taken over our area and does not support the guarantee.

We were taken. It currently costs us $1500 a year to have our LeafFilter cleaned!!!

1 comment
Anonymous
#1052649

If you haven't already done so, be sure to report this company to the BBB as well as Angies List. You should, as well, have the contract and guarantee to support a claim in court!

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Unwilling to work with our contractor

Hello, We apologize for the inconvenience. Your situation is very unique and we'd be more than happy to find a solution. Please contact our service support team at 800-749-4566 to further discuss your issue.
ID
#357265 Review #357265 is a subjective opinion of poster.

During Hurricane Sandy, an oak tree fell on our house and a 5' section of Leaf Filters guards were unsalvagable. We called the Maryland distributor and they were adamant that the missing section could only be installed by their outside contractor and they would send someone to give us an estimate.

Very uncooperative in light of our situation. Leaf Filters installed the gutter guards three years ago.

The guards work very well, which was the reason we wanted to use Leaf Filters again. Anybody having this system installed, request the installing contractor leave any residual product in the event you should need a one foot section later!

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Protecting Consumer Information

Hello- LeafFilter makes it a priority to protect every customer's confidential information. All financial information is handled with the highest level of security.
ID
#343311 Review #343311 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$3

I happen to love the product from Leaf Filter however I do not love the way Leaf Filter (N. Illinois) protected by credit card information.

Credit Card information was written on paper and faxed around the organization and low and behold several fraudulent credit card charges showed up shortly thereafter. No real proof however strong circumstantial evidence since only charge on CC was Leaf Filter other than normal recurring charges.

For 1st time in life had to closed credit account and obtain new card...

Product is good however "cannot" recommend the Leaf Filter company to family/friends since my trust in them protecting my credit information was lost.

2 comments
Anonymous
#551277

I would respectfully disagree since I did not use this particular credit card except for recurring monthly bills and I happened to see the fax (w/account # information) in the hands of the installer who put the gutters/leaf filter on my house. There was no need for the installer to have that information and as such would say the information was not as protected as you happen to think it is.

Respectfully yours

Anonymous
#537919

We regret your unfortunate situation. However, even as you mention there is no proof regarding how your credit card was used fraudulently. We follow strict security and privacy measures to safeguard consumers' information. Faxes and other transmissions are secure and only accessible by limited persons.

It is much more likely that your credit card information was comprised from an online transaction.

Greg Banig

Director of Digital Media

LeafFilter North, Inc.

View more comments (1)
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Rusty leaf filter screws

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. Please contact our service support team at 800-749-4566 so that we can assess your situation.
ID
#328834 Review #328834 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1000

We Had leaf filter installed on our gutters 6 years ago and now the installation screws are rusty and staining our white gutters. I emailed the LEAF FILTER company website and said that the mesh screen is stainless steel but the rusty screws I thought should have been aluminum or stainless in the northern part of the country.

Leaf filter rep did contact me later called after I emailed them and said they are steel painted screws and nothing they could do.

He said not cost effective to use aluminum. I used to praise them at the home shows, but not anymore!!

1 comment
Anonymous
#626325

We use stainless steel painted screws on our installs and never have this problem.