Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Indianapolis, Indiana - Gutter covers aren't designed for our house

We have every desire to address your unique situation and provide a solution. Leaffilter has a dedicated service and support team and local technicians in your area. Please contact us at 800-749-4566.
Review
#489037 Review #489037 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1600

This is unacceptable. We want ur company to remove ur entire gutter protection & refund us we will go w / someone else or we would rather pay someone to clean our gutters than for our house to look like this U personally looked @ our gutters & roof when u were out to sell us on the gutter covers. BTW, Shawn that was out to put the ugly things up said we will still have to periodically clean behind the shields. That is why we decided to have gutter covers put on in the first place.

This co had a booth at the Home Show in Indianapolis, IN 2014 . We filled out a card to have them talk to us about their gutter covers. On 2/1 Kelvin came out to sell us on their gutter covers. We decided to go w/ the co due to the fact my husband's sister and b-in-law had the same covers put on their gutters approx 4 yrs ago and likes them and Kelvin was very convincing they would work for us. The installers came out 2/6 in the snow and ice to install them. The back gutter covers poured water on the ground when it rained. They came out again to fix that problem on 2/25. When it rained in Mar 2014 the covers over the porch poured water onto the ground so again we called the co, they came out to fix the problem. On 4/28 the gutter covers were leaking again. On 4/29 the office said someone would be out on 5/1 to fix the over flow. On 5/1 a guy was out and said our problem is the severe pitch of the roof and that we would need shields but didn't explain how ugly they are. Someone was to come out to add the shields on 5/10 but they were a no show and didn't give us a courtesy call to say they wouldn't be out. My husband stayed home all day. I called the co on 5/10 and 5/12 leaving messages to see when someone would be out to install the shields but no one returned my call. On 5/13 a Greg, area supervisor came out said he would be out 5/15 to put the shields on but again a no show. On 5/14 we had a deluge of rain, I looked out the front door, it looked like Niagra Falls pouring water onto the ground from the gutters. On 5/16 Shawn came out to install the shields. They look terrible and are unacceptable. Matt called my husband yesterday 5/19/14 and talked terrible to him. I then called Matt today 5/20, he was so rude I could not believe he would talk to a paying customer like that just because I want a refund since their gutter covers won't work for the pitch of our roof. Matt accused me of ripping a contractor off because we want a refund. I'm filing this complaint because of Kelvin & Matt mostly vs the Co.

An apology from Matt would be nice but w/ his unprofessional attitude that will not happen. I also feel Kelvin was wrong not telling us their gutter covers wouldn't work because of the pitch on our house. Matt REFUSED to give me the name and telephone number of the owner of the company so I could call them.

It's now pouring down rain and the gutter covers are letting the water pour down all around the house. They aren't working at all like the company claims.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Charlotte, North Carolina - Consumers Be Aware

Hello- Installers are paid upon successful completion of each job. If our post installation inspection finds issues, the original contractor is given every opportunity to correct the problem without losing pay. LeafFilter makes it a priority treat every employee fairly.
Review
#488172 Review #488172 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Is your personal info protected? Monday I will be posting very important info you should know about leaf filter and the handling of your personal financial info.

This info is coming from the ripped off contractor. Also info left out from last post. In dealing with holding our check hostage until we sign pre-written statement that leaf filter wrote and wanted us to sign. We just wanted to be paid the money owed to us nothing more nothing less.

This is being done to all contractors and if they complain or say something about it, in the words of the regional manager of the Charlotte office "they will be eliminated".

The situation that happened on Friday 5/16/14 was recorded and some of the other contractors have been and will continue to record these such conversations to protect them from being victims.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Charlotte, North Carolina - Holding Paychecks hostage

Hello- All LeafFilter employees receive fair compensation. Installers are paid upon successful completion of each job. If our post installation inspection finds issues, the original contractor is given every opportunity to correct the problem without losing pay.
Review
#488166 Review #488166 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This will one of many updates to follow on the dealings of leaf filter. On 5/16/14 we went to leaf filter to get our paycheck.

The first thing we were confronted by the regional manager of the Charlotte office. He had copy of the post we put up on Pissed Consumer it was. He demanded us to remove the statement and write a retraction or he would not give us our paychecks. We were led into a the regional managers office and interrogated by the regional manager and 2 production managers about the post we put up on Pissed Consumer.

Prod. manager of the north informed that they had a 2 million dollar marketing crew the search for these type complaints. Then the regional manager tried to threaten and intimidate say everything we was a lie and that this was a multi-million dollar co. and they crush and eliminate anyone that gets in their way stating he will personally prevent us from ever working in this area tried taunt into a physical confrontation.

they as long as we remove or retract the post that they would still let us.The they left I am guessing to decide what to do. then the production manager came up to us and gave us a job work order with one extra piece of paper it was a typed up statement they made on leaf filter letter head that said word for word leaving personal name out ( This is to certify That Contractor and Contractor have received payment for all services rendered. Once Payment has been accepted it is understood that said parties will remove any and all negative comments posted on any and all online websites and forums. It is further agreed that neither Contractor nor Contractor nor any parties associated with them will post any further negative comments online or any place else from this date forward.

If parties continue to contract with leaf filter all past grievances shall be considered resolved on this date. Also, moving forward, any jobs that are scheduled and "accepted" by contractors are they responsibility of the above contractor listed. Leaffilter, moving forward, requires 24 hour notice if a scheduled job will not (or cannot) be hit, no exceptions).

Wanting to sign this.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

Leaffilter North - Online Review Review from Livingston, New Jersey

Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate you letting us know that the posting on 5/15/14 was spam and never supposed to be posted. We will do our best to work with Pissed Consumer on this issue. If you have any further insight or questions, feel free to contact our service and support team at 800-749-4566.
Review
#487938 Review #487938 is a subjective opinion of poster.

A posting about Leaf Filter Gutter Protection was posted on 5/15/14 and it needs to be removed. It's very long and has Leaf Filter and the date at the top. It's spam that was never supposed to be posted.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Charlotte, North Carolina - They rip off subcontractors

Hi There- Pay for LeafFilter subcontractors is based on the quality of work. If there is an issue with a subcontractor's work, he or she is given every opportunity to go back and correct it. We make it a priority to ensure each and every subcontractor is compensated fairly for his or her work.
Review
#487736 Review #487736 is a subjective opinion of poster.

To : Leaf Filter

5/15/14

On multiple occasions we have been shorted on our pay. (#1) We drove from the Charlotte office and went to Myrtle Beach on a job. We had told leaf filter that it was calling for rain. Our crew drove all the way there and it was pouring down rain the homeowner did not want us to install their job in the rain. Leaf filter told us they would pay us for the extra trip. To this date we have not been paid for this trip. We reminded them every week about this it has been almost 3 months. (#2) We drove from the Charlotte office to Chapin S.C. for a job that needed special skills that only our crew could do. The pay was agreed upon before we went. We got paid that amount. The follow week they deducted over $250.00 from our check from this job refusing to give any reason why the money was taken out of our check. (#3) On that same job in Chapin S.C. we had a service call. We drove all the way down there to find out it had nothing to do with our installation. The salesman did not sell gutter on part of the house that was critical to prevent flooding in the yard. We informed Leaf Filter and the homeowner. Yet we did not get paid for this trip. (#4) We drove from the Charlotte office to Roanoke Va. for a job this job that required a lot of extra work including rotten fascia and the roof was in bad shape. We had to get the extra work approved. Finally after all day it got approved to do. These problems were visually evident. We left and drove back up there the next day. Completed the job and everything seemed to be fine except when we received our check they cut the pay on it. When we confronted the production manager he avoided us. They shorted us over $500.00. In the end after making him mad because we wanted to know why our money was cut on this job the answer we got was they sold the job to low. He refused to show us a copy of our labor bill and gave us his cut up version of it failing to show all the work that was performed. Jobs that are underestimated in the end the money is always cut from the installers the ones that have the most in job. We personally paid for all the materials and labor for the woodwork and Leaf Filter walks away with the check and we get the real short end of the stick. (#5) We drove from the Charlotte office to Clover S.C. for a job that was screwed from the beginning we were the 3rd crew that went out to correct this job they had sold Leaf filter on seemed gutters which are in 10' sections, this should have never been sold like this it needed seamless gutters. They were being shady and unusual about this job; they wanted to hide this from their corporate office. We were given $60.00 by the manager and we were told to go buy gutter coil for this job. Us knowing the pricing of the materials this was only enough to cover half. We put another $60.00 of our own money in it and were told to bring the receipt to be reimbursed. When giving the Manager the receipt he says, “I DO NOT PAY TO COME TO WORK,” and only gave us $40.00 back. But he expects us to pay to come to work. When we ask for a copy of the receipt the production manager said just take it and pulled it out of the trash can. The installer that did this was fired because he refused to go a 2nd time to this job and not get paid. (#6) Leaf filter promises customers that the crew can work in any type of weather rain, sleet, snow, ice , freezing rain and if installer does a job in the rain the gutter sealant will not work it just gets washed out by the rain causing this job to have leaking. They expect the installer to fix this problem at our own expense, when this could have been avoided by avoiding the rain. (#7) This company has claimed being a multi-million dollar company but yet when a job is measured incorrectly or something is left out by a salesman the installers are instructed to call and let them know so any additional work can be approved. We correct our labor bills according to the specifications of the job, but it does not matter because they refuse to pay for any additional work needed done to complete job. I always make it a point to inform them on anything different on the job to make sure we will get paid. They expect us to call right away to let them know of any extra work but when we do they either refuse or just don’t care to change the labor bill and in the end we get screwed. It seems that selective memory loss has run ramped in this company because it is very rare that we get paid for any additional work we do. I just expect to get paid for the work we do. (#8) We turned in labor bill for a job that required fascia repairs; we keep wood on the truck for this reason. The wood was bought 2 or 3 weeks ago so we hand wrote a receipt to get reimbursed for the material used. The production manager said this is a multi-million dollar company we do not accept hand written invoices. 10 minutes later a job came in that was sold, we no paperwork on it yet we were handed a piece of paper hand written with just the address and the footage saying it was south of Spartanburg S.C. when it was actually north of Spartanburg. We drove an hour and half out of our way. (#9) Today May 15, 2014 I informed my production manager that there was tons of rain and thunderstorms in the area we were scheduled to work in. Leaf Filter acts like it’s no big deal being on a ladder 20’ to 40’ off the ground in bad weather. Last time I checked they do not pay my insurance. So in the end I was given an ultimatum, either go down there and fight through the rain or bring your materials back, we don’t need you anymore. So we refused to go because the last time we went to a job and could not do it we ate the cost of the first trip. I was told by my production manager that the rain would clear out by the time we got down there which was a lie. The estimated time of arrival was the same time that there was the most chance of rain and would last into the afternoon. Keep in mind this would have been a 4 and half hour trip. Round trip would have been 9 hours. (#10) At this current moment Leaf Filter is holding $1200.00 in retainage and also owing us money cut from our checks totaling over $1500.00. We have addressed this issue several times and nothing has been done about it. This company is big on double standards. Their mission statement should say. We will step on crush or eliminate anyone in our way of getting to the bank. We do our very best to do the job right the first time. These are the main issues we have. We can provide all specific documentations for these related issues. All this company cares about is getting their money and forcing their installers to work in terrible weather conditions. It’s money first, safety and realism comes last.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - LeafFilter Worthless Warranty

Hello- LeafFilter offers an industry-leading lifetime, transferable warranty. If you are still having issues with LeafFilter, please do not hesitate to contact our dedicated service and support team at 800-749-4566.
Review
#486581 Review #486581 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$4000
LeafFilter North - LeafFilter Worthless Warranty

We had LeafFilter installed and received a lifetime warranty for the system. Six years later the filter screen pulled away and off of a gutter (see picture).

We have all the paperwork on the installation including the warranty. When we called the installer's business phone, we learned that the person who installed it had moved on, and out of state. We then called the LeafFilter company Customer Service. We were told by a manager that the warranty is only covered by the individual who installed the original system.

If we wanted it repaired with warranty, it would cost $4,000.00 (excessively more than the original installation!) His attitude was take-it-or-leave it!

Do NOT consider LeafFilter. LeafFilter LIFETIME warranty is worthless.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Bellevue, Ohio - Leaf Filter BS, lies, and you have been warned... Buyer Beware

Hello - Leaffilter does not condone deceptive sales practices. All of LeafFilter’s installers are trained and local professionals that focus solely on gutters; we strive to provide the best possible experience for our customers, ensuring that your gutters are properly cleaned, realigned, and LeafFilter Gutter Protection is properly installed.
Review
#485285 Review #485285 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Leaf Filter North and all of its separate entities (locations) claim to be the manufacture, use W2 (employees) to do the installations; AND their sales people are corp. taught to deceive the customers.

Commercial acct rep etc (list out from up to $30+ per ft and sell 4 as little as $10.

They subcontract 99% of the labor and sales. They have/do charge "Leaf Filter" customers for services, despite a "Lifetime" warranty on "ownership/dealer" liability games.

A little research can go a very long way, when it comes to buying a solution instead of a smoke and mirrors Good Luck

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in New York, New York - Hard sell on estimate. Manager was condescending.

Hi there - We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your sales experience. If you would like to discuss your unique situation further, please feel free to reach out to our dedicated service and support team at 800-749-4566.
Review
#484636 Review #484636 is a subjective opinion of poster.

We saw them at a home show and made an appt for a “free, no obligation estimate”. I wanted to see how much this would cost since they needed to come out to the house.

We are new homeowners and I had no idea as to price. They made an appt for a Saturday Morning and the salesperson, George, was very nice and respectful. He brought the price down from $3500 to $2800 and wanted us to finance this at $46 a month for 6 years at 12% interest. Also to get this price we had to sign a contract that day.

We told him that the product sounded great but we could not afford it at this time. He then got his boss on the phone and the boss was very rude and condescending to us. Trying to shame us into signing a contract saying “Why did you have us come out if you can’t afford it?” and “you can’t afford $46 a month?” I said I’m not going to sign up for a 6 year commitment for this.

It’s not that important to me. The whole hard sell thing put us both off and we probably wouldn’t have gotten even if we could pay in full just because of the attitude of the manager.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Beware - Super Aggressive‎ Rude Sales Person

We apologize that you were dissatisfied with your sales experience. Although your experience was unfortunate, we can assure you that it was rare and unique. We have forwarded your comments to our VP.
Review
#483745 Review #483745 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I have never dealt with a more aggressive sales pitch from the moment they pressured us to sign up at the home show and then the rude unprofessional sales person

Backstory, my wife and I both went to the local home show a couple months ago and we were looking for a gutter guard for our new home that has large maple trees that filled our gutters last fall. We talked with all the like companies and requested more information/estimates, one of which was Leaffilter who was very pushy from the moment we initiated contact with them at the booth. The next day, I must have received a handful of calls and messages from Leaffilter trying to schedule a date to come out to our home. I called them back later in the day after work and told the lady that I got the original message and there was no need to call another 4 times. I proceeded to schedule a time a few days later when I had the other two companies coming out and then the real fun started.

I had Leaffilter come out first in the morning followed by Gutter Helmet and then Leafguard in the afternoon since we wanted to meet with 3 companies to get an idea of the cost and differences in each system. The leaffilter man showed up approx. 15 mins late and after introducing himself he proceeded to walk around measuring the home, after that he came in and gave me a short presentation on their product and what not. At the end he presented the price and said do we have a deal? I said no because we had others coming out, as I said that the Gutter Helmet salesman pulled up outside, 25 mins before my scheduled time with them. The Leaffilter guy who saw him said 'well I see you have Gutter Helmet coming as well" and I said yeah is there an issue. He then went into a tirade on their product saying they voided something with my roof and that they are going to lie to me about their product etc. I have to admit I was a little taken back by his anger towards this competitor and it left me kind of unsure how this next appointment would go. He then said, I tell you what I will give you an extra discount if I signed right on the spot, I responded back that I was not making a decision until I met with all the companies, spoke to my wife, kindly asked him to leave and I would be in touch if we were interested in moving forward. To my surprise as he walked down my driveway to his car, I see him flip the bird to the Gutter Helmet salesmen parked out on the road. Very classy! I just shook my head and laughed at the lack of professionalism of this guy. He sped off and then the Gutter Helmet guy came up and the first words after introducing himself were "I can only imagine what you just went through with that last guy and I want to assure you that the company you just met with is not a reflection of our industry as a whole." He proceeded to do his measurements as he gave me a presentation/video to look out, afterwards he came back in to the kitchen and went through each slide which was very informative and I learned some gutter things I had never thought about. After that, I told him that I really liked the way the product looked and the functionality seemed to make sense but I had another company coming out. Unlike the Leaffilter guy, the Gutter Helmet guy said that is ok and didn't go into all these extra discounts, sign today, etc.....he left me his card with a folder with brochure literature etc and said he would follow up later on this evening. I said great as I needed to talk it over with my wife later on. He left and went on his way, was very professional and did nothing that the Leaffilter guy said he would. As for the third company, Leafguard came on time and was also very professional. The man had a similar process as the others and then he presented a price which included taking down our existing gutters which I thought was silly since we have fairly new ones so the extra cost of the system plus loosing my current gutters didn't make sense. He went through their sales pitch like the others but I again stated I needed to talk stuff over with my wife later and the sale person left and mentioned he would follow up as well.

In conclusion, I conversed with my wife later on that evening and we decided to go with Gutter Helmet since we liked the way the product looked and how professional the salesman was. Also, about 30 mins after we made up our mind the Gutter Helmet sales consultant followed up around 7pm by phone and asked if we had made a decision. I said we were between two so we needed to get the price down a little and the salesman worked with with me, within our budget, and sent over the contract via email about 30 mins later. Leaffilter nor Leafguard ever followed up with me which I thought was not very professional.

Based on my experience I would say buyer beware on this Leaffilter company, at the very least do your research and have the other companies out so you can make an informed purchasing decision. The whole sign on the spot type thing, really rubbed me the wrong way as looking back now it seemed like an act of last desperation since they knew the other competition was coming and they would loose the upper hand once they left, unfortunately for them I was really just doing my due diligence on each company and they the sales person shot himself in the foot.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Laurel, Maryland - The company used screws/washers that rusted and ruined my gutters.

Hi Catherine, We are sorry to hear about the rust. If you are still experiencing it, please contact our service team at 800-749-4566. A local technician would be happy to come by again to solve your issue permanently.
Review
#482526 Review #482526 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$3500

I had this system installed in 2010. If this truly is a "lifetime" warranty then why are they not using stainless steel screws/washers to install them?

The rust from their screws streaked down the new gutters that I had installed at the same time. I spoke to a rep at the Philadelphia Flower Show about it and was told that there should not be rust.

Someone from the company came out to replace the screws but did not seem to know if the new ones were stainless because he was "just a worker". Changing the screws did nothing to improve the looks because the rust still remains on the Leaf Filter as well as the streaks on my gutters