Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Leaf filter system-a joke and way too expensive

Two weeks ago Leaf Filter was installed on all gutters on my house. Little bit of moisture, 20 degree weather, icicles all over the place; leaking gutters; ice on pavement. In this house for 20 years and NEVER HAVE THERE BEEN ICICLES OFF THE GUTTERS. This is a rip off and i want the Leaf Filter system removed and my $6,500 returned in full. The sign on the lawn needs to come down as i do not want to advertise how *** i was for buying this system. Do not believe the gutters were cleaned as i was sold and there were to be no leaks. I am really really disgusted
View full review
Review
#375575 Review #375575 is a subjective opinion of poster.
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Seattle, Washington - Don't waste your money on LeafFilter!!!

Your gutters don't get clogged (which is the guarantee) but the filter product gets clogged with pollen almost immediately so the water runs over the gutter. Might as well not have gutters at all. The splashing has caused extensive damage to our siding and doors. Trust me this product is worthless. At first the dealer was diligent about coming out 4 times a year to spray the product off. Now that dealer has gone out of business so we are out of luck. A new dealer has taken over our area and does not support the guarantee. We were taken. It currently costs us $1500 a year to have our LeafFilter cleaned!!!
View full review
Review
#358843 Review #358843 is a subjective opinion of poster.
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Dunkirk, Maryland - Unwilling to work with our contractor

During Hurricane Sandy, an oak tree fell on our house and a 5' section of Leaf Filters guards were unsalvagable. We called the Maryland distributor and they were adamant that the missing section could only be installed by their outside contractor and they would send someone to give us an estimate. Very uncooperative in light of our situation. Leaf Filters installed the gutter guards three years ago. The guards work very well, which was the reason we wanted to use Leaf Filters again. Anybody having this system installed, request the installing contractor leave any residual product in the event you should need a one foot section later!
View full review
Review
#357265 Review #357265 is a subjective opinion of poster.
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Vernon Hills, Illinois - Protecting Consumer Information

I happen to love the product from Leaf Filter however I do not love the way Leaf Filter (N. Illinois) protected by credit card information. Credit Card information was written on paper and faxed around the organization and low and behold several fraudulent credit card charges showed up shortly thereafter. No real proof however strong circumstantial evidence since only charge on CC was Leaf Filter other than normal recurring charges. For 1st time in life had to closed credit account and obtain new card... Product is good however "cannot" recommend the Leaf Filter company to family/friends since my trust in them protecting my credit information was lost.
View full review
Review
#343311 Review #343311 is a subjective opinion of poster.
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Cleveland, Ohio - Rusty leaf filter screws

We Had leaf filter installed on our gutters 6 years ago and now the installation screws are rusty and staining our white gutters. I emailed the LEAF FILTER company website and said that the mesh screen is stainless steel but the rusty screws I thought should have been aluminum or stainless in the northern part of the country. Leaf filter rep did contact me later called after I emailed them and said they are steel painted screws and nothing they could do. He said not cost effective to use aluminum. I used to praise them at the home shows, but not anymore!!
View full review
Review
#328834 Review #328834 is a subjective opinion of poster.
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Leaf Filter Guards of Seattle

It might be true that gutters will not clog but what about the micro-screens? Dirt, pollen and whatever small particles clog the screens and now instead of just cleaning out your gutters you have to scrape the *** off the top and then soak the screens/scrub with a brush and then wash off. So now a job that maybe might have taken 2 hrs to do takes days. Also watch on how they are installed. Mine have been up 4 yrs now and rain water has back up ,due to flashing that was installed improperly, under the shingles and now my roof is leaking .
View full review
Review
#313542 Review #313542 is a subjective opinion of poster.
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Eliot, Maine - Leaf filter / Preffered Plastics

We were a leaf filter dealer for a period of about 2 years in the mass and ct area. This product officially sucks, does not work, has a warranty that no one will honor, and will not give you any money back. Their popular excuse is their product was not properly installed and improper adhesives were used. Well thats all a bunch of ................... The frame of the leaf filter is plastic / vinyl and the mesh is stainless steel. Two components which have completely different phisical properties. They expand and contract differently at various temperatures. Due to this expansion and contraction, the silicon fails (Geocell 7700), and the stainless steel mesh is in your neighbors yard. This is not a fairy tale story to bash a product, this story is backed up with tons of upset customers in mass and ct, which can be available upon request with their permission. Need any more proof, you can find us on asggutter.com
View full review
Review
#283067 Review #283067 is a subjective opinion of poster.
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Massillon, Ohio - Way over priced

I can not say how well or how poorly Leaf filter works but I have a pavilion in a campground more than an hour drive from my home. When I contacted them I explained exactly what I had ( 2 straight 40 foot sections 15 feet above the ground and asked for ball park figure or an average price per foot so I could make a decision on if it was worth my while to make the drive and wait on them to arrive. Stated that all jobs are different and wouldn't give any idea on an amount. I set up an appointment and when they arrived they found that it was exactly as I had described. Gave me a price of $1995.00. ( which is nearly $25.00 per foot) I declined. The salesman was nice and did not try to pressure me. Called another company told them exactly what I had. They told me over the phone that the price would be $200.00 ($2.50 per foot) if they didn't run into problems. They arrived at scheduled time did the job for $200.00 and I am pleased. Can't speak about the quality of leaf Filters product put can say I feel that they are way over priced and believe that you can can basically the same system installed for way less money elsewhere.
View full review
Review
#272507 Review #272507 is a subjective opinion of poster.
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Rochester, New York - LeafFilter

Leaffilter.com work good but installers are bone heads. Sales person was very nice(BIG SURPRISE HUH!), installer was rude and got Belligerent with my wife when she would not sign the inspection sheet, she was sick and was not suppossed to leave the house, I told the sales person that when I purchased the system the installer needed to come when I was home, he did not. The installer did not put the end caps on and left big gaps in the ''filter''. So far it seems to work ok but it is after the leaves have fallen and we have not gotten much rain.
View full review
Review
#271623 Review #271623 is a subjective opinion of poster.
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North in Camden, New Jersey - LeafFilter Installers Were Contractors and Did a Sloppy Job

I had mine installed on Saturday, Oct 08, 2011. I live in southern NJ. A year or two ago I did some research on gutter guards and actually installed three different types of Amerimax products from Home Depot. I did that to see which type worked better. From what I had read, and from my experience, the mesh screen type works the best for most situations. Note that I understand that no product is 100%. If you've been cleaning your gutters four times a year, after installing just about any type of gutter guard, you'll cut that down to zero times a year and will just need to do some maintenance/cleaning once every few years. So if you keep that in mind, don't fall for the "it'll never clog" or "you'll never need to clean it" gimmicks. You can't realistically believe that you can put on a gutter guard and never have to do anything to it. Because I actually have experience installing gutter guards, I know more about them than the average homeowner. So why did I get LeafFilter installed? Because they were for my top gutters, which are too high up for me to comfortably and safely install on my own. On Sat, Oct 01, 2011 I met with Steve, the LeafFilter salesman. He showed me the product and based on my experience, I knew that the design was good. He made some additional points that made the product stand out, such as the following: - It can be easily removed since it goes on top of the gutters and is only held down with screws on the front. - It does not install under your shingles, so it won't disrupt them or void any shingle warranties. - He mentioned that it was rated #1 in its category by Consumer Reports. He showed me the article and I verified it and read it thoroughly later on at www.consumerreports.org/cro/magazine-archive/2010/september/home-garden/gutter-guard/ratings/index.htm. The product looked very good and basically sold itself. I didn't fall for the sales pitches"”I based my opinion on previous experience and knowledge, so I knew what to look for. I had specifically asked Steve if the installers were contractors and Steve stated that they were LeafFilter employees and he even went on to state that if anything happened to them during the install, they would be covered under LeafFilter's insurance. Everything sounded good, so Steve wrote up a contract and said that I wasn't obligated to go through with it, but it was easier for him to write it up now. That's fine, since I wasn't required to put any money down. Also, because of miscalculations on my part, I understated the length of my gutters and we had agreed to a price already, so I ended up getting several feet extra at no cost. The retail price on these is $20 a foot, installed. I got mine for well under that. After doing some additional research, I found that several of the issues with LeafFilter appeared to be with the install. I figured that the install quality wouldn't be much of an issue for me since I'd get up on the roof to inspect the work as it was being done. The Better Business Bureau in NJ only reported two complains, one of which one was resolved satisfactorily. So based on my findings, I contacted Steve and agreed to the install. I warned him that I was going to inspect the work and would not cut a check until I was satisfied. I asked if the install could be done on Saturday and he said probably around 10:00 AM. OK, I thought, 10:00 AM, give or take an hour or two. Well Saturday comes and I hear nothing from anyone and it's noon already. I contacted Steve and he stated around 1:00 PM. OK. It's now 2:00 PM and no one is here. They finally showed up AFTER 4:00 PM. They had run into some issues at the first job and it took much longer than expected. In retrospect, I should have cancelled the install since it was late and these guys had been working all day already. I was down the street eating lunch so I wasn't' home when they arrived. When I pulled up to my house, right away I didn't like what I saw. They had a saw sitting on my lawn and boxes of screws and brackets. The ladders and other tools they had were not very professional looking. There was no van or truck there because the supervisor had to go to Home Depot to get supplies to finish up the first job. So it was just two guys there. Anyway, to get to the point, after talking to these guys, I find out that the one had only been doing this for three weeks. I went up on my roof to inspect their work and noticed that several sections in front had the filters installed on top of the first layer of shingles. In several sections, the fronts of the shingles were torn. So much for the non-disruption of shingles! The supervisor comes back and I tell him about the issue with the front. By this time the two other guys had already started on the back and it was getting dark (close to 7:00 PM now). The supervisor basically ripped out most of what they had done on the back and re-installed it and worked with the one guy to finish the back. By now it's dark out and I had to get them a work light since I didn't want them to mess up anymore"”if they couldn't install it correctly in the day light, I was scared to think of how they'd do in the dark. I inspected the back and didn't see any damaged shingles. I made them take out and reinstall at least two sections on the front. By now it's almost 8:00 PM. The install took over three hours, not the 1 ½ - 2 hours that Steve mentioned. My roof and gutters are less than four years old and in good condition. The gutters are just a long straight run with a short corner on both front and back. In my opinion, this had to be one of the more ideal installs and should have been pretty straightforward. I can't even imagine these guys working on more complicated installs. The one guy said that the install they did earlier (the one that took so long) had a lot of corners so it took more time. They are also supposed to "seal, repair, and realign" the gutters before install. I asked the one guy if they checked the pitch of the gutters and he said they only check if asked to. So basically they just clean out the gutters and then do the install. And lastly, I find out from the supervisor that he's a contractor, NOT a LeafFilter employees as Steve had stated. That explains the lack of any type of LeafFilter uniform or signs on the van. Oh, and the van leaked oil so now I have two oil spots on my driveway. I was being nice and told the supervisor he could park in my driveway so it's partially my fault. The next day I go up on my roof again to inspect the work. I found several uneven areas and the back corner had some large gaps that weren't caulked properly. I feel bad for the other home owners who probably never inspected LeafFilter's work. My concern now is that the damaged shingles could cause issues down the road. Sunday, October 09, 2011 I submitted my complaint via LeafFilter.com's "contact us" page. Wednesday, October 12, 2011 It's been over two business days now, and haven't received any response from LeafFilter so I called the corporate office and the person I spoke to stated that it can take a few weeks to get a response to complaints. I said that I would file a complaint with the BBB if I didn't hear back from someone today. Later in the day I heard from someone in corporate and he took down my information. I told him about how Steve misrepresented to me that the installers were employees. He said that the installers are indeed subcontractors, but they only work for LeafFilter. After that, I heard from the installation manager in NJ and e-mailed him some pictures of the work. Thursday, October 13, 2011 The installation manager came out to take a look. Coincidently I was home sick so I was able to meet him in person and showed him the areas that had issues. He readjusted the front part that was uneven by repositioning the bracket. On the back corner, he put in another screw and more caulk. Regarding the damaged shingles, he said they would be OK since they're just damaged a little bit and my roof line is further back. He reassured me that if I ever have any issues, everything is under warranty. The install manager kept telling me that everything is under warranty, so even if I didn't spot the bad work, if I had issues in five years, I could call them up. Yeah, that's great that they have the lifetime warranty, but it's an inconvenience for me to have to use it"”the work should have been done correctly the first time. He said that the rest of the install looks good (of course it does, because I had the installers redo the areas in the front when they were here). Bottom Line: This is a good product, but you need to keep an eye on the installation. Because LeafFilter uses contractors, I don't think they're able to maintain the quality of installations. I think it all comes down to money, and it's cheaper for them to use contractors because they just pay by the job, so if the contractors run into issues and take twice as long as normal, the contractors probably don't get compensated. If you had LeafFilters installed, go up and inspect the installation. I feel sorry for the people who didn't inspect the work and might have issues later on. Here's some additional advice: - Get everything you discussed in writing"”even the part about the installers being employees. Whatever you asked and whatever the answer was, get it in writing. - Schedule to be the first job of the day and *** from work if you have to. If you get it done on a weekend, there probably won't be anyone in LeafFilter's office to complain to if you run into issues. - Never pay until the work is completed. I didn't really want to give the check to the installers, but they did do the work, albeit bad work. I knew I could file a complaint later so I paid them. - Get up on the roof and inspect the work. You cannot take it for granted that these guys will do a good job. Even if you have no experience with gutter guards, a bad install should be pretty easy to spot. This is the name of the company, per https://newjersey.mylicense.com/verification/Search.aspx?facility=Y: Name: LeafFilters North of New Jersey, Inc (the contract I signed has "LeafFilter" with no "˜s' at the end) Address: Hudson,OH Profession/License Type: Home Improvement Contractors,Home Improvement Contractor License No: 13VH06085200 License Status: Active Issue Date: 1/19/2011 Expiration Date: 12/31/2011
View full review
Review
#267922 Review #267922 is a subjective opinion of poster.