I am happy with my leaf filter system. When I had the salesman write up the contract I had him include their television promise that they would clean and re-align the gutters. A crew came out who were obviously subcontractors who got up on the roof and just put the...
View full review
ID
#1869937 Review #1869937 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cassopolis, Michigan
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Rain is cascading off leaf filter screen

Hello – We are following up with our service team to ensure someone reaches out ASAP. Thank you.
ID
#1860572 Review #1860572 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
LeafFilter North - Rain is cascading off leaf filter screen
LeafFilter North - Rain is cascading off leaf filter screen

Waiting for a call back for servicing

User's recommendation: Will know how after this issue and how it’s handled.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Works "OK" not great

Hello Jim – If you are having issues with your system, please call us at 800-749-4566 and we will be happy to help!
ID
#1848232 Review #1848232 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
LeafFilter North - Works "OK" not great

Works "OK" not great. Pine needles build up on mesh and I need to get on a ladder to clean them off every so often. Heavy rain runs over and under the gutter and snow builds up on top of gutter.

User's recommendation: gutters do not fill with pine needles - thats good.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - They do not honor their warranty

Kaneisha – Please provide us with your job number and/or phone number so we can have someone reach out to you ASAP to address your concerns. Or, you can call us at 800-749-4566. Thanks!
ID
#1728392 Review #1728392 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
Cons
  • Conflicting information
  • Customer service
  • System not working
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$4000
Preferred solution
Full refund

I still have piles of leaves and icicles on the system. They told me this was normal.

Only mother nature can remove the leaves. Then they told me my roof pitch might be off, or I may not have enough insulation in my attic, that why I'm getting icicles.

I've had four people out here and still piles of leaves on the system. They refuse to give me a phone number of a person who cares

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - DOES NOT WORK! WANT MONEY BACK!

Hi Gina – We definitely understand your frustrations and want to help. We have escalated your concerns to our corporate service team and will have someone reach out to you shortly. Thank you.
ID
#1711576 Review #1711576 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
Cons
  • Bad service
  • Product not as promised
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$3489
Preferred solution
Full refund

Had so much build up of leaves and debris on top of the LeafFilter gutter screen, they don't work. They also create a hazard as ice builds up over the leaves that don't come off--as they say they will.

With our health, we cannot be climbing up on roof to remove leaves etc from on top of the LeafFilter screen. LeafFilter told us there is sap from our trees on the filter and that's why it's not working.

We asked for our money back as that obviously will continue to be an issue and they refused to consider it. I'm telling everyone that they DO NOT WORK and don't waste your money for a false "guarantee."

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Defective system from day one

Roger – We have forwarded your comments to our service and support team and we will have someone reach out to you shortly. Thank you.
ID
#1689364 Review #1689364 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter

The product is defective

Why

because it does and will clog from day one

I would like a full refund please

Thank you

Job # MIN 12859

CELL # 6512310320 ROGER B.

October 24 2019

Minnesota

LeafFilter North - My 70th Birthday Present

Having just turned 70, I decided that it was about time to quit the tri-annual task of clearing almost 200 ft. of gutter of leaves and pine needles. I looked into various products on the market but was most impressed with the Leaf filter system. I requested a quotation and within a short time I received a call to set up an appointment. The salesman actually showed up an hour early so I was quite impressed. He measured out the gutter and then came in the house to give me the sales pitch and a quotation. After some negotiation we arrived at a price that was agreeable and I gave him the go ahead. The installer arrived as scheduled and had finished the installation in just over 3 hours. He even took pictures which he emailed me when he got home. Both the salesman and installer were extremely professional and I an very happy to retire my extension ladder. I fully recommend this product to anyone that wants an effective solution to gutter maintenance with a lifetime guarantee that is fully transferable. – Chuck Stradling, Toronto
View full review
Testimonial

LeafFilter North is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#1574423 Review #1574423 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
Reason of review
Good quality
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - I feel like a chump falling for this.

Hi Cathy- Thank you for your feedback. Our customer service team has reached out to you to resolve this issue. If you require further assistance, please call us at 800-749-4566. Thanks!
ID
#1330346 Review #1330346 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$8000
Preferred solution
Price reduction
LeafFilter North - I feel like a chump falling for this.
LeafFilter North - I feel like a chump falling for this.
LeafFilter North - I feel like a chump falling for this.

I am standing in my yard looking up at my gutters that are piled high with pine needles. I feel like such a chump for thinking that the pine needle problem would be mostly solved if I paid a FORTUNE for Leaf Filter. The guards have been up several months but pine needle are a foot high in the corners and span thickly across the entire length of all gutters

Yes, the gutters drain well now and my front yard does not flood as it did before Leaf Filter. I live in North Carolina and have pine trees in my yard. Wind blows the pine needles that now pile up securely on top of the Leaf Filter flat surface within the gutters. I still need to find someone to move the extension ladder around the house and push the pine needles from the top of the Leaf Filter. Yes, it takes far less time because there is no need to reach into the gutters. The pine needles cling together and form a thick rope. With luck and experience, I can pull down the connected needles and debris in long connected pieces. Because the needles pile up on top of the Leaf Filter it actually looks much worse than before. However, at least I can see when they need attention. I am hoping that the handyman I will have to pay to preform this task will charge less because it should be easier and take less time. I paid many, many , many thousands to Leaf Filter and still need to pay someone to clean the gutters.

Two of my neighbors installed Leaf Filter on my recommendation. I am very embarrassed. Recently I was asked about the product from a third neighbor. I told him that I would only recommend Leaf Filter if he could have them installed for a fraction of what I paid. He will need to take into consideration that although the rain seems to be passing through the product, it forms a great shelf for debris collection.

I feel foolish for falling for gutter protection. At least a neighbor who used another product was given a tool to clean his gutters. That is more than I got from Leaf Filter.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Very dissatified with leaf filter not happy at all

We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your LeafFilter installation and we would be happy to schedule service to address your concerns. Per our records, we do not see where you have called in to our Customer Service Department previously. We are opening a ticket today on your concerns and a manager will be reaching out to you within 24 hours. Thank you for your time and feedback. If you should need any further assistance, please call in to our Corporate office at 1-800-749-4566 and ask for the Service Manager.
ID
#1066564 Review #1066564 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$1320
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
LeafFilter North - Very dissatified with leaf filter not happy at all

You may not have to clean the inside of the gutters but after having the leaf filter installed last year every thing stays on the top and needs to be cleaned twice a year. Mold collects on the top and does not let water thru so water just runs off onto the ground.

It all so does not wash the leafs or pine needles off. This does not work, I spend more time cleaning the top of the cover than I would have cleaning the gutters. The installation was done poorly as well The gutters are dirty now as well.

I would not recommend this to any on it is more work then it was worth. See attached picture all the gutters are now this way.

LeafFilter North Reviews

  1. 110 reviews
  2. 38 reviews
  3. 15 reviews
  4. 12 reviews
  5. 79 reviews
LeafFilter North reviews

LeafFilter North Products and Services Reviews

LeafFilter North - Excellent Product

We are very happy with our Leaf filter purchase.Installation was expertly done.The filter works as advertised-no more leaves to clean up,water goes into gutters instead of around house foundation.We have also been told by contractor friends that we made the best choice of product.
View full review
Verified customer Testimonial

LeafFilter North is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#949627 Review #949627 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Product
Leaffilter North Filter

LeafFilter North - 5 years and still loving them

I have had Leaf filter protectors installed on my home for 5 years now and they live up to what they claim. I have never had to clean the gutters since we had them installed in 2001, we have pine trees and maple trees and the leaf filter keeps all the debris out of the gutter. The design is good and of high. quality. We are very pleased customers and would highly recommend Leaf Filter to everyone.
View full review
Testimonial

LeafFilter North is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#948256 Review #948256 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
Reason of review
Good quality
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Corners clog and screen plugs after less than a year.

Hi there - It looks like your experience is unrepresentative of how LeafFitler typically works. We have every desire to address your problems and provide you with a solution. Please contact our service and support team at 800-749-4566. We have local technicians in your area that would be happy to come out and assess your unique situation.
ID
#755835 Review #755835 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
Reason of review
Bad quality
LeafFilter North - Corners clog and screen plugs after less than a year.

We still need to get on our roof several times a year and clean off the screens. Mold grows in the mesh and prevents water from going in and fir needles stick into the screens.

Here is a video to show you. Doesn't take much to plug the water flow and this is the high flow mesh.

Their story about never having to go on the roof is complete malarkey. So expensive, would have saved money to have gutter professionally cleaned once a year vs the thousands we spent to have this system.

4 comments
Anonymous
#1134100

Got hawked at the Mpls auto show while walking by their rain demonstration. I was tired and took the hook and gave the exhibitor my phone number even after I said I was not interested.

He begged me to let his rep do a measure. Next morning phone rang and appt was made for measure. Sales rep shows up at designated time. As a "buyer beware" senior, it was all a bunch of BS and he came up with $5000+ for 190' of product.

And his calculator working overtime making all this noise in attempt to convince me he was working hard to get me discounts, I was working overtime myself to keep from laughing aloud while he was doing this phony theatrics at my kitchen table. The rep had to be in his 60's and perhaps older then that but I just had to keep wondering to myself if this guy was that full of himself and thought I just fell off the pumpkin wagon or what? I personally think he smelled money by the premier condition of the house because I smelled his commission breath.

The rep tried to intimidate me but this was not my first rodeo and after 10 minutes of telling him repeatedly that I was not a push over and I was sure in the heck not signing any sales contract at that time.

He actually laughed at me when I asked to see the "fine print" of the warranty/guarantee and said there it's right there on the brochure, it is guaranteed for life, period. Why don't I just understand that and believe him? My response to him was BUYER BEWARE...that's why. I want to see the FINE PRINT!

He then attempted to educate me about the MN law and the 3 day cancellation policy and I replied...I know all about the law and I am still not signing anything. Period! I walked to the door and said I would let him know and he finally got the hint and left the house after I told him point blank..."You are not selling me anything! If I want to buy the product I will buy it but you sure in the *** are not SELLING me anything.

Period!"

I learned very early in my career (now retired) that "if it isn't in writing...it does not exist!"

Still curious, next business day I called the corporate office out east and asked for a copy of the warranty/guarantee as I was considering their so called lifetime product for my house. More BS. The service dept girl said they cannot hand out the warranty/guarantee for the product due to "privacy concerns". I had to hold my laugh back.

Not making any of this up. Still laughing to myself, I started looking on the web and found review after review about how this is nothing more than a hard quick pressure BS product.

They just want to get in the door. One final point on the rep.

He actually told me that the MN State Fair is their best marketing tool and they got 5000 measures last year. OMG!

I would not put this product on my home if it was free.

Reading the review "confessions of a sales rep" is really enlightening. Check it out in these reviews.

Anonymous
#1107284

stop being haters, consumer reports ranks LeafFilter

number one in gutter protection.

Anonymous
#1132380
@PissedConsumer1107284

Actually, Gutter Glove was ranked #1 by Consumer Reports.

Anonymous
#1095776

I totally agree; my Leaf Filter screens are clogged with alage or small particles and the rainwater sheets right over the edge, and it's flooding my garage.

View more comments (3)
LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - Rain Does Not Go Into Gutter But Overflows!!

Hi Marcie, We are sorry to hear that your experience with LeafFilter was less than satisfactory. If you are still coping with gutter related issues, please contact our service team at 800-749-4566.
ID
#592709 Review #592709 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$4071
Preferred solution
Full refund

My Leaf Filter was installed on November 4, 2014 and I discovered almost immediately that, when it rained, or when there was a little bit of snow melt on the roof, water did not flow into the gutters but instead went over the gutters and to the ground below. I now have a literal trench around my house in the front and the back where the water has been going over the gutters every time it rains.

My front porch which has a gutter going along the outside and used to be dry is now constantly wet because the water goes across the gutter and drips down steadily on the porch. I contacted the service manager, Emily Klousterman, for the North Region shortly after Christmas and she returned my call in early January. Then said she would have a service tech call me. After about 10 days with no call, I called her again and she told me the same thing, i.e., a service person would call and come out to see what was wrong.

He finally called and came out. However, he only took pictures and said he would show his boss. Interestingly, he said since it was raining when he came out, he could not actually look at the gutters and what was happening to the rain! Interesting!!

One would think that the best time to look at what the gutters are actually doing is to look at them in operation when it is raining. I finally called him back to see what happened when he showed the pictures to his boss. He said boss would call me. Boss finally called and left a voice message saying that Leaf Filter did not work very well at the beginning until the screen was saturated with water.

I have a call back into him. This is ridiculous!

These gutters were over $4000! I want them taken down and replaced with a product that works.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - LeafFilter Gutter system failure

Some melting snow may flow over the Leaffilter gutter system, however, the bulk of the snow should enter into your clear and clean gutter and away from your home. If you suspect you are having issues with your LeafFilter system, feel free to reach out to our dedicated service and suppor team at our corporate offices. We'd be happy to send out a technician to assess your unique situation and provide any solutions we see fit. Thanks!
ID
#564127 Review #564127 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
Reason of review
Damaged or defective

Just had this product installed 11/16/14. We had after a minor snow storm < 3 inches that covered the roof gutters and leaf filter screens.

Later that evening and over the last few days as the snow began to melt on the roof, the water was not flowing into the gutters but over the top of the gutter system. In my opinion if water is steadily dripping / pouring over the gutters then the system is failing to do what it supposed to do. Water is not going into the gutters as it melts.

Product fails to deliver as promised.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

LeafFilter North - LeafFilter Failure

LeafFilter has an industry-leading lifetime, transferable warranty – the best in the business. We offer a 100% money back no-clog guarantee. If you are having issues with LeafFilter, please feel free to reach out to our dedicated service and support team at 800-749-4566.
ID
#513562 Review #513562 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Leaffilter North Filter
Loss
$5000

To summarize my position -

1) We purchased/installed the Leaf Filter system and drip edge in JUN 2010. Leaf Filter replaced one piece of fascia board and the gutter over the garage. The fascia board was rotted and the gutter was warped/rusted. No other issues existed with my fascia/ gutters - otherwise Leaf Filter would have replaced/fixed it then (in accordance with the warranty - detailed below). I am an Army officer, and frequently travel overseas for extended periods of time. I purchased the system/drip edge because I wanted to ensure that my home drainage system would not have any issues while I was gone.

2) Due to military requirements, I was absent from the Washington DC area from JUL 2013 until JUN 2014. When I returned, I noticed the the gutters were streaked, rusted, watermarked, and that the fascia was rotted in several locations. During a moderate thunderstorm last week, I took pictures/video of water flowing over the leaf filter system (instead of into it/the gutters), and dripping off the bottom of the gutter. I also identified a number of locations where water was flowing behind the drip edge/gutter, and dripping off the fascia.

Both an installation manager and the VA office manager acknowledged that parts of the leaf filter system were clogged with pollen and/or other micro pollutants, and that the entire system needed to be replaced. Further, they both acknowledged that installation of the system and drip edge could have been installed "better."

Bottom line - the leaf filter system failed. This failure caused permanent and irreparable damage to my gutters in the form of black streaks (my kids call them zebra gutters - I tried to power wash them, but the stains will not come off), rust stains and unsightly watermarks along the entire length of the gutters. Further, Leaf Filter either failed/or did a poor job of calking some of the seams in my existing gutters, with resulted in additional rust stains. Lastly, Leaf Filter did a poor job of installing portions of the drip edge, which caused water to run between the gutter and the fascia, resulting in stains, paint peeling and wood rot in multiple locations.

3) The written warranty provided to me by Leaf Filter states in part

- "We seal your gutter and downspouts with 50 year silicone"

- "We repair any damaged gutters and/or downspouts, if necessary"

- "We give you a manufacture's money back, no clog, guarantee."

Given the above commitment provided to me by Leaf Filter at the time of purchase, I feel strongly that Leaf Filter is responsible for the failure of the system/drip edge and resulting damage.

Update - it took me over ten business days to get in contact with Joe Roschival, LeafFilter Vice-President of Installation. Mr. Roschival was abusive, argumentative, and constantly interrupted me. He questioned my integrity and called me a liar three seperate occassions during our approximate 30 minute