leaf filter gutters filter gutter leaf service job home leaffilter installation
LeafFilter North's reply to:

Totally mislead by Sales | LeafFilter North review

Hi Deborah – We’d like to discuss your concerns regarding your recent estimate with you further. Please feel free to call us at 800-749-4566 and we’d be happy to help. Thank you for reaching out.
Review
#1767276 Review #1767276 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Loss
$700
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website.

Verified Reviewer

After received the initial estimate, my sales rep kept calling and calling. I finally let him back out and he said he would discount the price.

Not only did the initial contract change, the discount price was not what we discussed and I didn't even get the leaf filter I was suppose to get with the original contract.

At least they could have told me that, had they I could have had another company install the exact same gutter for the "discount" price" I was told. Had to leave a good review when you've been lied to,

LeafFilter North's reply to:

Scammed by salesman | LeafFilter North review

Tavaris – We definitely understand your frustrations regarding your financing terms and have forwarded your information to our corporate escalation team. We will have someone reach out to convert the payment terms. Thank you!
Review
#1733154 Review #1733154 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Problems with payment
Preferred solution
Change the finance plan

On 10/30/2019 I had a salesman come out and give me a quote. While the gutter system is the highest priced filter system, I was wlling to use them because as a 69 year old widow, I don't want to deal with cleaning gutters.

I explained to the salesman I would NOT be able to finance them at this time. He had offered me 5 years no interest. I explained I would do it in 5 or 6 months. He said no problem.

He then offered me 18 months no payment that would be converted at that time to the 5 years no interest. When I got the letter from the finance company, there was no option to convert it to 5 years no interest. Greensky Finance said if Leaf filter would call them they could change the 18 months no payment to the 5 years no interest. I have caled Leaf Filter many times and NEVER get a call back.

Paying a $6300.00 bill in 18 months puts me in a terrible financial position. If I don't pay it in that time, I will be charged 29% from day one.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

Terrible communication equals terrible service | LeafFilter North review from Battlefield, Virginia

Hi James – We are following up on this immediately with your local office – please feel free to reach out at 800-749-4566.
Review
#1722920 Review #1722920 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • I am generally disgusted with them
  • Poor ordering by the company
  • Lack of communication
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$323
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Tags
  • expensive
  • Leaffilter Leaffilter Failure
  • Poor Communication With Customer

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website.

Verified Reviewer

Update by user Jan 15

The product is installed with no compensation for all the missed appointments. I will need to wait for the rains to see if it works.

Original review posted by user Dec 04, 2019

As I sit here waiting, again, for the install team to show up for an appointment, which I confirmed yesterday I am second-guessing my decision to have LF installed. The appointment today was for an arrival between 9 and 11, I presumed that was in the AM.

Here it is 1:45 PM no crew, no call. Before the sale the salesman, Bobby Vincent said the install may be as early as next week. The contract was signed 10-9-19. He then called in and was told it would be 10-28 between 9 and 11.

They did not have a roll of green material on hand to make a 20' section of gutter. OK, until the night before the install, they called to say they did not have the roll of material yet. Really? 20 days and you could not get the material?

So then, we agreed on the following Friday. Thursday they called and left a message in the morning requesting a callback. I called them back when I got home and was told since they had not heard back from me they were sending the crew elsewhere. POed?

You bet. The next appointment was for today. I have refused to call and ask where they are, especially since I confirmed the appointment yesterday.

Will I reschedule? I do not know unless there is a 10-20% discount involved for my time and aggravation.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

Not happy | LeafFilter North review from Colorado Springs, Colorado

Hi David – Please call us at 800-749-4566 to discuss further with our corporate service team. We may be able to recommend a solution for your gutters. Thanks!
Review
#1714719 Review #1714719 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Dripping from snow melt all over gutter area
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

First snow since install several weeks ago - melting snow all along my gutters onto deck, patio etc....at least my uncovered gutters prevented this...

LeafFilter North's reply to:

My gutters are clogged again | LeafFilter North review

Robert – We have every desire to assist you and ensure your gutters are clog-free. We have escalated your concerns to our corporate service center and will have someone reach out within the next two days. Thank you.
Review
#1686678 Review #1686678 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Looks good
Cons
  • Problems
  • Contracting methods
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$6204
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • cater1
My gutters are clogged again - LeafFilter North review
My gutters are clogged again - LeafFilter North review
My gutters are clogged again - LeafFilter North review
My gutters are clogged again - LeafFilter North review

Rep was here with low ladder for a two story home. He cleaned the gutter above my garage.He then clean out one other gutter that he could reach with his low ladder.

When system installed some of the soffet boards were loosened.I do not believe the down spouts were ever flushed.A day after rain,spouts stoll drip because they are clogged with debris.

I would like a refund per yur warranty,

Robert Miller

LeafFilter North's reply to:

NOT HAPPY-leaves pilling up | LeafFilter North review

Hi Amanda – we truly compare about our customers and want to ensure they are satisfied with our product. We have forwarded your comments to our corporate service team and will have someone reach out shortly. Thank you.
Review
#1648338 Review #1648338 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Customer service and quality of product
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Preferred solution
fix the issue
Tags
  • Leaf filter guards
NOT HAPPY-leaves pilling up - LeafFilter North review

Had the leaf gutters installed this past spring. Was told that the leaves would not gather on the roof--that the water would allow them to wash right off the roof.

This is not happening. I'm attaching picture.

They are also leaking over the front of the garage...NO ONE likes to pay that much hard earned money and not get what they paid for. I expected more from such a reputable company or maybe that's the issue you make so much that you don't care about the shotty work your traveling workers leave behind..unhappy in MS 228-233-9517

LeafFilter North's reply to:

Shoddy installation | LeafFilter North review from Battlefield, Virginia

Hi James – We definitely want to ensure your gutters are in good working order to keep your gutters clog-free. We have forwarded your comments to our service and support team and will have someone reach out shortly to address your concerns. Thank you for being a valued LeafFilter customer.
Review
#1640212 Review #1640212 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Great product design
Cons
  • Material misrepresentation of product and breach of contract
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
Tags
  • liars
  • Leaf filter guards
  • Leaffilter Leaffilter Failure
Shoddy installation - LeafFilter North review
Shoddy installation - LeafFilter North review
Shoddy installation - LeafFilter North review
Shoddy installation - LeafFilter North review
Shoddy installation - LeafFilter North review
Shoddy installation - LeafFilter North review

The installation of the filter was not done well. I was told by your sale rep that the joints for the gutters would be factory created so that they would fit.

Instead, an installer just cut them in my backyard and they do not join together. Also, in the gutters I can see into, they didn't clean them out as promised.

I have called and left several messages, but have not received a call back yet. I'm going to continue to pursue this until it is fixed.

LeafFilter North's reply to:

Unbelievably poor customer service--lot's of promises--NO reaction | LeafFilter North review

HI Dick – It sounds like we need to make some adjustments to your system to ensure it is in good working order. We have forwarded your comments to our service and support team and will have someone reach out shortly. Thank you.
Review
#1638434 Review #1638434 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Great sales pitch
Cons
  • No service after the sale
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Spent $5,000 getting product put Leaf Filter all over the house. Was promised life time warranty and that they would fix ANY issue.

It's been 6 months, I've got water falls coming out of the gutter...the guy that sold it to me has left the company.

Can't get anyone to call me back...oh yeah, they did take pictures over a month ago and admitted it wasn't working--but nothing since then. I've called no less than 2 dozen times!!

LeafFilter North's reply to:

The Leaf Filter is damaging my house | LeafFilter North review

Hi Wayne – We are so sorry to hear this and can ensure you our corporate office has alerted your local team. We will reach out to you right away regarding your concerns. Thank you.
Review
#1629086 Review #1629086 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$4000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Dear Sir or Madam,

I have a problem with my Leaf Filter. In the corner of my patio and sunroom it leaks.

Not once or twice have they been out but three times building a dam making it bigger and higher each time. Trying to divert water into the gutter. Yesterday night it rained hard again. It over flowed the dam and came down on my porch.

It flooded the area and I have an electric plug there. It popped the GFI plug and it did it again. When it rains hard, the Leaf Filter prevents the water from entering the gutter. It flows over the filter and makes a trench in the ground as well as splashing water/mud onto the walls, making a mess.

That is what I have gutters for, to stop that. I'd rather fight the leaves in the gutter. I only have to open the drain once or twice a year. With the Leaf Filter, the leaves stick to the gutter, blocking it completely.

I asked (7 recorded times, in July and August) for removal and to have someone contact me. I have made more calls than that (May and June too), but I didn't write down the days like I'm doing now. They said they would take care of it, (Leaf Filter/Matt supervisor said he would contact Philly Office), they didn't. I do not get a reply back from anybody.

Once, Matt called back just to say Philly would call. They never did. I have been put on hold and the phone goes dead. They hung up on me.

I want my Leaf Filters removed and my money refunded. This product totally impedes the functioning of the gutters. I think they are trying to wait me out. I do not recommend this product or the company.

They did not keep their promise of making the gutters maintenance free. I'd like to know who I need to talk to in order to get this problem resolved. It shouldn't take this long and I'm at the end of my rope. I have contacted Customer Service at 1-800-749-4566, so don't send me there.

They don't have the power to do anything but forward my concern.

It is above them and they seem not to care. It is like once they got my money, they no longer care what happens.

Contact LeafFilter North Customer Service

Website:
Mailing Address:
1595 Georgetown Road
Hudson, Ohio 44236
United States
All LeafFilter North Contacts

LeafFilter North Blog

LeafFilter North's reply to:

Will not take "no thank-you" for an answer | LeafFilter North review from Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Ron – We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent sales experience. Please give us a call at 800-749-4566 if you have any questions regarding your estimate.
Review
#1592211 Review #1592211 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Preferred solution
Price reduction

The quote was way out of my budget so I tried to stop the presentation at that point. He continued to offer additional deals and discounts but I still said no.

Then he tried the phony call to the factory to get the factory direct price.

It was still too high, but I will not buy anything from anyone who tries that tactic on me. If he had offered1/3 the original price at the beginning I might have considered it, but I don't like the high pressure sales gimmick with the phony phone call.